Nominees anouncement of European Union Prize of Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award 2019

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe announced the list of nominated works for the 2019 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award:

383 works from 238 cities in 38 countries have been nominated by 76 independent experts, the national architecture associations and the Prize Advisory Committee. This selection draws the present picture of contemporary architecture in Europe and can be consulted at or using the EUMiesAward app.

The jury formed by Dorte Mandrup (Chairwoman), Frank McDonald, María Langarita, Kamiel Klaasse, Ștefan Ghenciulescu, Angelika Fitz and George Arbid will shortlist 40 projects that will be announced on January 16 and the 5 finalists on February 13. The winners will be announced in mid-April and the EU Mies Award Open Days will take place in May to promote visits to the shortlisted and finalist works.

The process will culminate with the EU Mies Award Day on May 7 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona: opening of the exhibition, lectures and debates, presentation of the publication and Awards Ceremony. Save the date!




Organised with

European Comission