European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award 2015 in Wroclaw

opening on 15 February 2016 at 6 p.m.
exhibition is open from 15 February to 27 March 2016.

Szczecin Philharmonic as the winner and the other finalists of the last edition of the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award at the Museum of Architecture in Wroclaw.

The exhibition complements opened in January Made in Europe exhibition presenting the winners of the Mies van der Rohe Award from 1988 to 2013. It presents a selection of the most important examples of the European architecture of the last two years. Three of the shortlisted projects are in Poland: the new Silesian Museum in Katowice, designed in the Austrian studio Riegler Riewe Architekten, Museum of the History of Polish Jews POLIN in Warsaw created according to the design of the Finnish architect Rainer Mahlamäki and the Szczecin Philharmonic, the work of the architect duo Barozzi/Veiga from Barcelona – Alberto Veiga from Spain and Fabrizio Barozzi from Italy, which became the first Polish building that received the main prize in the history of the competition.

All the objects featured in the last edition of the Prize will be presented in the form of design documentation organized in an extensive database – sketches, photographs, plans, maps and information – as well as 40 models, including two winning constructions – the Szczecin Philharmonic (main award) and the Luz House in Cilleros in the west of Spain, designed by ARQUITECTURA-G studio (Emerging Architect Award), four buildings qualified for the final – the Danish Maritime Museum in Elsinore, the Museum of Art in Ravensburg, Saw Swee Hock Student Centre in London, Antinori Winery in Florence and the two Polish works from the shortlisted.





15-02-2016 > 27-03-2016

Organised with






Museum of Architecture in Wroclaw