Premi d’Arquitectura Contemporània de la Unió Europea – Premi Mies van der Rohe 2013

The architecture award by the Mies van der Rohe Foundation is the most important and the most influential prize of the European Union awarded in the field of modern architecture. For over a decade (since 2001), the biennial prize has been introducing new European talents and their work to the public. The foundation’s touring exhibition of modern architecture promotes the field and its representatives who contribute to the creation of modern European architecture. It also motivates the public to perceive architecture as one of the factors which encourages the building of a safer and more responsible Europe.

For each biennial edition, the nominated works, which must be completed within the previous two years,
are put forward by a group of independent experts, the Architects’ Council of Europe (ACE) members as well as the other European national architects’ associations and the Advisory Committee. In recognition of their conceptual, technical and constructional qualities, the Jury selects two works: one that receives the Prize and the other, the Emerging Architect Special Mention, as well as a set of shortlisted works to be included in the Prize catalogue and exhibition.

The exhibition consists of the works: the Prize-winner and the Emerging Architect Special Mention, as well as the finalists and shortlisted works.

On 12–14 September 2013 the European Forum for Architectural Policies (EFAP) is planned to take place in Vilnius and Kaunas. This will be one of the official cultural events of Lithuania’s presidency of the Council of the EU. The architecture exhibition of the Mies van der Rohe Foundation will be one of the conference’s most important events. The European Forum for Architectural Policies is an international organization which develops architectural policies and encourages people to discover and create environment that corresponds to the present-day needs and to develop solutions for sustainable development.



13 de setembre de 2013 - 25 d'octubre de 2013

Organised with

Fundació Mies Barcelona


Žalgiris arena

View Map