25 aniversari del Premi d'Arquitectura Contemporània de la Unió Europea - Premi Mies van der Rohe - Fundació Mies van der Rohe

25 aniversari del Premi d’Arquitectura Contemporània de la Unió Europea – Premi Mies van der Rohe

The «European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award“ – organized by the Fundació Mies van der Rohe, Barcelona – is granted every two years to acknowledge and reward quality architectural production in Europe. Launched in 1987, it is the most prestigious award in European architecture. The Deutsches Architekturmuseum is member of the Steering Commitee as well as member of the Advisory Committee.

For each edition, the Jury selects from among nominations submitted by the member associations of the Architects’ Council of Europe and the other European architects’ associations, a group of experts and the Advisory Committee a single work to be granted the Prize and a single work to be granted the Special Mention, both for their excellence in conceptual, technical and constructive terms. The Jury also makes a selection of shorlisted works to be presented in the catalogue and travelling exhibition.

The nominated works are not limited by scale or programme. The selection of the Jury for each edition has included private homes and public housing; museums and cultural installations; educational, health and sports facilities; as well large-scale infrastructure projects and transport systems. Finalists 2013 are a Market Hall, an intercultural city park, a Home for Elderly People, a sculptural object and a concert hall and conference centre. The common denominator is that these works all contribute to the construction of the European city. In this sense, the Prize aspires to be a platform for investigation, development and implementation of sustainable architectural practice that promotes the social, cultural and economic benefits of sustainable growth.

The Prize consists of 60.000 € and the Special Mention consists of 20.000 € with both receiving a sculpture that evokes the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion of Barcelona – the symbol for this Prize: excellence and innovation in conceptual and constructive terms.



8 de febrer de 2014 - 20 d'abril de 2014

Organizado con

Fundació Mies Barcelona; DAM – Deutsches Architekturmuseum


DAM - Deutsches Architekturmuseum

Ver mapa