New European Bauhaus - Fundació Mies van der Rohe

New European Bauhaus

The New European Bauhaus was conceived to include a cultural dimension on the journey to a sustainable future inspired by the Bauhaus a hundred years ago. On which, architects and designers such as Walter Gropius, Mariane Brandt, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Gunta Stölzl, Marcel Breuer, Lilly Reich and Anni Albers took up the challenge of re-building Europe to improve the quality of life for all in a crucible of economic and social transformation.

The Fundació Mies van der Rohe with its expertise and broad net of collaborators joined the European Commission’s ambition to create a new European Bauhaus Movement. A participatory co-creation process with a network of thinkers, planners, architects, designers, entrepreneurs, students and citizens working together to develop innovative sustainable projects and solutions for an inclusive, sustainable and quality environment for life.

In 2021 the creation process of this new movement took place, comprising the design phase by creating a dialogue with our networking stakeholders to explore ideas that may be used by the European Commission to shape the movement; and the presentation of the movement by implementing five New European Bauhaus projects in the different EU Member States.

In 2022 the first edition of The Festival of the New European Bauhaus takes place. A festival that aims to bring people together to debate and shape the future. A sustainable, inclusive and beautiful future. The Festival brings the European Green Deal at the heart of citizens daily lives.