Living Places. Simon Architecture Prize 2020 - Fundació Mies van der Rohe

Living Places. Simon Architecture Prize 2020

Fundació Mies van der Rohe curates the 3rd edition of the project Living Places – Simon Architecture Award, organised in 2016 as one of the main events of the celebration of the 100th anniversary of Simon and with a 2nd edition in 2018.
This biennial contest is characterized by an approach defined on the basis of the perspective of the inhabitant, by adopting the video format as the essential means by which to explain the work and by an inclusive participation process that allows any citizen to propose those works they regard as interesting. The award distinguishes those architectures of excellence by focusing on the experience of their inhabitants.

On its third edition edition, the prize has continued to increase participation and has received 140 candidatures from projects built in more than 20 countries between Europe and Mexico.

The jury of this edition, formed by Anupama KundooLouise LemoineVictor JaimeAna Luisa SoaresDean Skira and Salvi Plaja met in two online sessions last October to choose the finalists and winners of the two categories in which the award is structured: Collective Places and Living Places.

The announcement of the winners was held online on Thursday, 10 December, at 6pm, with the live presence of Anupama Kundoo, president of the jury, in conversation with each of the winners, who presented their awarded projects.

Watch the awarding ceremony:



Check the rules and all the details of the award at


08/05/2020 – Presentation of the 2020 edition

21/05/2020, 18:30h: Architecture and Filmmaking

15/09/2020 – Deadline for nominations

30/09/2020 – Deadline for submissions

23/10/2020 – Jury meeting

10/12/2020 – Winners announcement